Skip to main content

Refine your search


101 doctorates conferred – festivities continue in Joensuu

The main event of the doctoral conferment ceremony of the University of Eastern Finland, i.e. the ceremonial conferment of degrees, took place in a festive atmosphere today. A total of 101 doctorates were conferred, and 12 of these were Honorary Doctorates conferred upon persons chosen by the faculties. The doctoral conferment ceremony is an academic rite of passage in which those who have completed their doctoral degree formally receive the insignia associated with this status. At the University of Eastern Finland, the insignia of the doctoral status are the doctoral hat and its emblem, and the doctoral diploma.

Niilo Lahti
Primus Doctor Niilo Lahti.
Niko Soininen
Ultimus Doctor Niko Soininen.